Thursday, April 05, 2007

RWC 2007 “base camps” announced

January 21, 2007

Via Rugby Canada:


January 19, 2007
Paris, FRA

The International Rugby Board (IRB) has announced the ‘base camp’ locations where participating teams in Rugby World Cup 2007 will be primarily based for the duration of the pool match stages.

For the first time in the Tournament’s history each of the 20 teams will be located in a regional base camp city during the initial pool stages of the Tournament. Teams will stay and train in the town or city and will play at least one match in their base camp region. Teams will travel to other match cities from the base camp, stay in the match city for a selected period of time then return to the base camp.

Within close proximity of each base camp hotel and match hotel will be standardised training facilities for all teams comprising: one full-size rugby pitch and access to a reserve pitch; an indoor training area; a swimming pool; and a gymnasium.

After the pool stages those teams not qualifying for the knockout stages will return home.

For the knockout stages of the Tournament (quarter-finals, semi-finals, Bronze Final and Final) hotels have been identified in Cardiff, Marseille and Paris. The eight quarter-final teams will arrive in their respective match cities on Tuesday October 2, 2007.

The schedule may be subject to change. Media requiring further information on hotels, travel and other facilities should contact the Participating Union concerned.

RWC 2007 Team Base Camps

Argentina: Paris (first week around opening match) then Lyon (Rhone Alps)

Australia: Montpellier (Languedoc-Rousillon)

Canada: Bordeaux (Aquitaine)

England: Paris (Ile de France)

Fiji: Toulouse (Midi-Pyrenees)

France: Paris (Ile de France)

Georgia: Lyon (Aquitaine)

Ireland: Bordeaux (Aquitaine)

Italy: Marseille (Provence-Alpes-Cote d’Azur)

Japan: Toulouse (Midi-Pyrenees)

New Zealand: Marseille (Provence-Alpes-Cote d’Azur)

Namibia: Marseille (Provence-Alpes-Cote d’Azur)

Romania: Toulouse (Midi-Pyrenees)

Samoa: Paris (Ile-de-France)

Scotland: St Etienne (Rhone-Alpes)

South Africa: Paris (Ile de France)

USA: (Lens for first match) Lyon (Rhone-Alpes)

Wales: Nantes (Pays de Loire)

Repechage 1: Lyon (Aquitaine)

Repechage 2: Montpellier (Languedoc-Roussillon)



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home