Tuesday, December 02, 2008

RWC 2011 pool groups announced

The Rugby World Cup 2011 Pool Allocation Draw took place yesterday.

The RWC 2011 pools are:

Pool A: New Zealand, France, Tonga, Americas 1, Asia 1

Pool B: Argentina, England, Scotland, Europe 1, Final Place Playoff

Pool C: Australia, Ireland, Italy, Europe 2, Americas 2

Pool D: South Africa, Wales, Fiji, Oceania 1, Africa 1

If Canada is to be the Americas top-gun, that puts them into a very tough group, with hosts New Zealand, and perennial powerhouse and two-time RWC finalist France.

For full details of the draw, including knock-out stage ramifications, visit the official RWC website for more info.


At 12:49 AM , Blogger Moses @ Beer and Sport said...

you guys would be almost better off qualifying 2nd in your region and hoping to sneak past the Irish...

That said, the French on their day can lose to anyone...

At 12:46 AM , Anonymous Anonymous said...

I think pool A is still the best option. Canada isn't going to beat any of the top-8 teams so at least pool A gives them a more realistic chance at third and automatic qualification for the 2015 RWC in Japan*.

(*Premature but inevitable.)


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home