Wednesday, April 04, 2007

IRB Player of the Year nominations

November 6, 2006

It's a couple months late, but the IRB finally got around to naming their nominees for Player of the Year today:

IRB announces Player of Year nominees


The International Rugby Board has announced the shortlist of players nominated for the prestigious IRB Player of the Year Award. The five short-listed nominees were unveiled at the London launch of the IRB World Rugby Yearbook 2007.

New Zealand fly half and previous winner Dan Carter, Australia full back Chris Latham, New Zealand captain Richie McCaw, Ireland second row Paul O’Connell and South Africa scrum half Fourie du Preez are all nominated for the top individual accolade at the IRB Awards in association with Emirates Airline, being held this year at the historic Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum in Glasgow, Scotland on November 26.

“The IRB Player of the Year award is the ultimate accolade for a player to receive and rewards the highest achiever in the Game over the past twelve months. The award takes into account the Test calendar from January to November 2006 and includes the RBS Six Nations Championship, Tri-Nations Series and the June Tests,” said International Rugby Board Chairman, Dr Syd Millar.

Source: IRB.


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home