Friday, March 30, 2007

NZ Maori squad named for Canada

May 29, 2006

New Zealand Maori coach Donny Stevenson has named his first squad since replacing Matt Te Pou for the forthcoming Churchill Cup campaign in North America - which will also feature 'A' teams from England, Scotland and Ireland.

Stevenson has selected 13 new players alongside captain Jono Gibbes and fellow veterans Kristian Ormsby, Chris Smilie and Joe McDonnell.

"Having 13 making their debut brings excitement and a challenge for us as coaches," Stevenson said.

"But we've enough of the old heads, with the likes of Greg Feek and Jonno, for there to be a good mix."

The Maori squad assembles in Christchurch on Monday ahead of a Sydney warm-up against the NSW Waratahs on Friday. They fly to San Francisco next Saturday to play the United States on Wednesday June 7 and Ireland 'A' on Saturday June 10. The teams then fly to Edmonton for the Churchill Cup play-offs on June 17.

NZ Maori squad: Neil Brew (Otago), Callum Bruce* (Otago), Greg Feek (Tasman), Ross Filipo (Wellington), Hosea Gear (Wellington), Jonno Gibbes (Waikato), Cory Jane* (Wellington), Jason Kawau* (Otago), Tanerau Latimer* (Bay of Plenty), Zar Lawrence* (North Harbour), Tasesa Lavea* (Auckland), Scott Linklater (Waikato), Joe McDonnell (Wellington), Deacon Manu (Waikato), Luke Mahoney* (Wellington), Liam Messam* (Waikato), Mike Noble* (North Harbour), Kristian Ormsby (Counties- Manukau), Shannon Paku (Wellington), Jake Paringatai (Northland), Chris Smylie* (Otago), Anthony Tahana* (Bay of Plenty), Corey Tamou* (Northland), Paul Tito (Taranaki), Pehi Te Whare* (Southland), Thomas Waldrom (Wellington).



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home